Home   School Year 2011-2012   Third Class 2011   Third Class Chinese New Year Jan 2012

Third Class Chinese New Year Jan 2012

The Chinese New Year

This year, the Chinese New Year starts on January 23rd. The celebrations last for 15 days. Each year is given a name of an animal. It follows a cycle of 12 animals. These animals are the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster,dog and pig. This year is the year of the dragon. I was born in the year of the horse.

Chinese people have lots of traditions to celebrate the new year. They spring clean their houses to get rid of bad luck. Parents give their children ‘lucky money’ in red envelopes. Chinese people decorate their homes and towns using brightly coloured decorations. They also set off lanterns and fireworks into the sky.

By: Robyn

Third Class

The Chinese New Year

There are many Chinese stories explaining the history of the 12 animals. One story tells how Buddha (Jade emperor) invited all the animals to a party to celebrate the new year but only 12 showed up. As a reward, he named a year after all the animals according to the order they came to the party in.

Another chinese story tells us about the Nian. He was a human eating monster who came down from the hills every Winter looking for food. To scare him away, the chinese people used bright colours (red in particular) and loud noises. They decorated their villages and set off firecrackers and fireworks to scare the Nian away.

Chinese people still have the same traditions today to celebrate the new year. The colour red is a lucky colour. If you would like to know another story about Buddha and the 12 animals, feel free to ask anyone in our class!

By: Mégane

Third Class


no images were found